Installing Painless wiring harness

Big Al

I'm in the final stage of a on frame restoration of my 1972 MC. After re-installing my engine and getting it running I started having electrical issues and decide to replace the wiring harness. after doing some research I decide to go with the Painless wiring harness. I wanted to know if any of you have rewired there MC with the painless wiring harness and what tips or advice you could give me. This is my first time rewiring and entire car and any help or suggestions you could provide me would be appreciated.   Thanks

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Can I ask why you choose the painless harness? Did you consider buying the stock replacement harness and having them add what changes you might have. This is like having a HEI, and maybe a Elec. Choke. I did this years ago and it was super easy to install. American Auto Wire has both harnesses. Good Luck.

Carl

I used the painless wiring harness for my Monte a few years ago and its still running :).

Instalattion is not 'painless', take your time and be thourogh...

A friend suggested the painless harness, I had also researched American auto wire, every time I tried to contact their company I could never get anyone on the phone. I also wanted to hide some of the engine bay wiring that runs across the back of the firewall. I also have a electric choke, is the American auto wire harness updated with the current fuse (square type) used today ? I haven't order Painless yet, I wanted to get some feedback from some of the other members that have replaced their wiring harness. Thanks for the feedback.

Yes you can get it made with the square fuses. I will check the phone number I always use and post it later. They have a operator that always answers the phone. She will then connect you to a salesperson. Just have a list of the changes you want.

They make a excellent harness. I would say Best in the USA.