Greetings all, I grew up with being around cars because my dad owned a autobody repair and towing service shop. I graduated HS in 69 got married and joined the Marines retired in 1998 as a Master Gunnery Sgt. Aug 2019 was our 50th. Bought this 70 Monte 454 SS from my sons inlaws after father passed. I was going to help him restore, his son gave up on it. Monte is all original numbers matching only rust was at rear window lower left corner. Has been in storage since 1998. I am the 4th owner to title it, there were 2 others which were dealers. I met with 2nd owner which had a new dual exhaust system installed. I am going to start a frame off restoration this summer. I will take pictures and post as I go for all to see.

Welcome aboard Marine, and thank you for your service. Looking forward to watching your progress and pictures. Theres a ton of knowledgeable folks here to help you along 

Thank you, I have been reading a lot of info on this club which has pointed out how to verify and locate needed information. Deems the previous owner located the build sheet which confirmed this is a true SS 454.

Welcome to the club! Looking forward to watching the progress..

Welcome to our madness!!! Lolol look forward to seeing pictures. 

Everyone, Thank you for your warm welcome, I did not expect. I look forward to attending gatherings and shows, plus meeting fellow members.

Welcome! Yes, we love pictures!

Welcome to the club and forums, Joe! 

You are fortunate to be starting with a documented '70 SS454!  There is something unique, almost mystical, about owning and driving a first gen SS.  Yes, the big 454 is part of it but the SS badging and genetics give them membership in a Chevy performance family that is broadly recognized and appreciated.  I enjoyed every minute of the eight years I owned, drove, showed and improved my '70 SS.  Hope you  find the information on this site helpful and have a great time restoring her to glory.

Hello Dennis,