Wiring for factory tach?

BYBIS

Hey all, been looking at a 70 MC SS that does not have a factory tach to the left of the speedo.  If I remember correctly, there's a fuel gauge there instead.  Since I'm new to these, I have a couple of questions:  1.  Was the factory tach considered an option in 1970?  2.  If the vehicle did not have a tach, is the wiring still in place for the tach so if someone wanted to change the gauge cluster, they could without changing the entire harness?

Thank you in advance for the help.

Hey Tom,

If I remember correctly, 

- the printed circuits are definitely different between idiot lights and gauges.

- the wiring harness is different, however based on your wiring skills it can be converted to work. Some wires in the plug that goes into the printed circuit have to be moved around and some new wires have to be made to make the conversion work.

There is lots of documentation on what I am referring to. If you have more questions, just ask. Many of us have done this sort of thing before.

Thanks!!

Mike

• Like 2

These Monte's came standard with idiot lights.  The gauge dashes an option and the circuit boards and wiring were different.

rob

• Like 1

Picture of my 71 factory gauge package that I swapped with another 71 350 Monte. I also swapped ALL the wiring because it was different.

IMG_0321.thumb.JPG.5e733b4d84964be92a00444d5aaa09d7.JPG

• Like 1

It’s all posted here. I just went through all this and everybody was great. I just purchased a cluster(sonny) repinned the harness and added the tach wire. Pretty painless for somebody with skills,that just happens to not be me. Electrical is my devil

888F0EF5-3BC6-4FA5-9D69-344C61620881.jpeg

DF3E68E4-C1A8-4A85-8F15-7F53AEF48AA2.jpeg

Edited by Dtret
Add photos
  • Like 1