Rust repair

71SSclone

Stolen from MC1of80  Been there done that. And the snowball begins!  Good luck! 

35 years ago with my 71 Black Monte (NO Vinyl top.)

Funny, I was a Ford mechanic 72 till 75.

Mr. Milne did NOT like me driving my 71 Monte to work. I did purchase a 78 T-Bird, nice car.........

• Like 2

Thomas,

What 1/4 panels did you use? Gm or aftermarket? I bought everything from Belden, but my c pillars need work. Im really trying not to go with a full replacement 1/4s because I know what that would lead into. Lol

John

10 minutes ago, stangeba said:

Stolen from MC1of80 

Been there done that. And the snowball begins!  Good luck! 

(35 years ago with my 71 Black Monte NO Vinyl top.)

Bruce,

Im going for the same look as your car. Black with no vinyl top!!

• Like 1

John, If your interested this link should take you to my old collection of 71 Monte restoration pics in the mid 1980's

Not as nice as yours but I was on a tight budget.

https://1971montecarlo.wordpress.com/2015/12/14/1971-chevrolet-monte-carlo/

• Like 1

We used some of the first reproduction 1/4s from AMD. Very impressed with them. They are just as good as originals. We also have a set of NOS GM 1/4s "in stock" that we had them side by side for a comparison. Highly recommend the AMD.

• Like 1

Nice project there John.  Keep the pictures coming.  Looks like you have your work cut out for you.... excuse the no pun intended.

rob

Honestly, it wont be me doing the work. My garage is full and have no space for bodywork shenanigans at my house. A friend owns a shop and agreed to take this project on during the winter. I'll probably go down there and help as much as I can. He has been trying to hire me part time since I retired, but until my hip and ankles are healed, there is no way I'm going to work even a part time schedule.