350th kickdown problem

Howdy folks-

Every since I pulled the engine, the kickdown will not operate on my 71 350/350 setup. It's factory correct and I adjusted the linkage attatched to the intake according to the shop manual. What next???

Put the engine back in and try it wink

I wish I had a good answer for ya, I'm no tranny expert but I would start with the vacumm line for the modulator.

Did you rebuild the motor? Increase it's power?

Maybe the tranny was on the edge and the new power plant is taking it's toll on the trans........

With any luck someone who actually knows what they are talking about will have an answer for ya.

kickdown is controlled soley by the cable. Check that cable.. make sure it IS adjusted right. Mine wouldn't kick down at all either.. turns out the 'correct' way to do it.. wasn't really right for me for some reason. (wrong cable or somthing *shrug*)

I moved the throttle return springs to hold the throttle wide open and manually pulled the kick down cable out as far as it would go with vicegrips... and then adjusted the cable clamp.. and then from there fine tuned it by trial and error.

The cable must be installed in the correct position relitive to the carb. The factory bracket is best used here. It must also be the correct length for your car and engine setup. to set make sure the housing is properly snapped into the bracket, next raise the locking ring all the way up, open the carb to full throttle and hold it there while you push the locking ring down flush with the housing, be sure and hook the cable end to the carb linkage in the proper hole. That should do it.

Everything is 1971 factory correct, brackets and all. Adjusted to your method (as outlined in gm service manuals), but no go. Will try some other tinkering methods.

Just for grins, make sure your gas pedal is moving down far enough to fully engage the kickdown. If that's good sounds like possible tranny problems.

• 2 months later...