Valve body or shift kit, both?

Reaper

Hey, just wondering I have a turbo 400 that is gonna be in my Monte behind my big block... gonna be a strip/street car I dont mind shifting the gears myself for the manual valve body... What would be my best bet.... Manual valve body, Manual/Auto valve body or a shift kit or valve body and a shift kit? I dont know much about trannys... any ideas? Thanks, Tom

I like the B&M transkit it gives you lots of options. It is a lot easier to work on the trans out of the car, you don't have to worry about loosing your balls (check balls), I just did a TCI shift kit and the instruction were not as clear.

Go to a manual valve body. It eliminates all the vacuum and kick down problems associated with transmissions. It is also easier to do the valve body replacement outside of the car especially the pressure regulator spring.I do trannies for a living.

Reaper, I either the transpak or the plain shift improver kit will work fine for you. Also, I'll vote for the manual/automatic valve body. A straight manual body means you HAVE to shift it gear to gear, it will not do it automatically. I have had friends do this mod and it's cool for a week, then they hate it because they get tired of shifting it. Every time you come to a stop, you have to shift down to first, and then through second and third as you drive away. If you don't downshift all the way and start from second or third, you can burn up the transmission if done often enough or hard enough.