Cold Idle / High Idle setting on Carb...

TrunkMatt

EDIT - Originally thought I had Edlebrock... on closer look it is not. Don't ask how I made that mistake... lets just say I am not a mechanic.

Hey guys - I have a question on Cold-idle / high idle

My nifty new monty seems to not want to go into high-idle on first cold start... seems to be set at 550rpm or so. As a result I have to rest my foot on the pedal to keep it from stalling until she heats up... probably about the first 10 minutes. It can be annoying as it means I need to shift into neutral at a stoplight, and keep the rpm at 850 by foot or risk it stalling, good ole 2 footing etc.... also seems to smell a bit rich until it heats up.

If it does stall when cold, it is then a bear to start (first start is fine... stall-out start = complete pain). So to me it means an obvious sign of too much fuel at cold idle, partially flooding. If I make it through the cold cycle, no issues whatsoever.

After heating up, all is well... and it actually idles fine, doesn't smell rich. Once it heats up it can idle at its own about 700 rpm with no issues.

So, the question is:

1) Is this a choke thing or a float thing, or a high idle speed setting thing?

I am not a person who has had the life experience of fiddling with carbs enough to want to take a crack at it without someone experienced thinking it through for me first :-)

My only personal reference is my other old car, a 72 Ford Torino with a Windsor 302... and it is VERY DIFFERENT layout than what I am staring at when looking at the Monte.

The high idle timing on an edelbrock is controlled by the choke. The idle speed itself is set by a screw. Which Eddy Carb do you have?

See Page 14:

http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive_new/misc/tech_center/install/1000/1410_manual.pdf