How's this combo, Will it make over 500hp

BigBlockMonte

Hey all

I got a line on the engine combo. I'm not good with combos, so I'm asking here if you feel this combo will produce over 500 hp, and enough to propel the car to a low low 12sec 1/4 mile.

71 chevelle, 3600 lbs witout me in it. Car is a SB right now. I'm approx 160ish. So say 3800lbs plus the extra weight of the BB.

Mario,

Here are the engine specs...

Fresh 468 BBC short block, ’70 dated -512 ARP studded 2 bolt casting with a balanced assembly which includes a cast GM crank, rebuilt (thumb print) GM rods, and a set of TRW 2399 + .060” 13.8cc forged pistons.

All assembled using King bearings and Perfect Circle rings.

The block does have one sleeve (#8) and has been pressure tested OK.

Fresh pair of ’74 dated -781 GM casting oval port heads, completely redone with new 2.19”/1.88” stainless valves, hardened seats, Comp Cam 924 springs, ARP head bolts. .

GMPP oval port, square flange aluminum intake

fresh Holley 750 double pumper carb.

Comp Cam Thumpr flat tappet cam and Comp lifters

Cam specs are 279/296; 227/241 @ .050”; .498/.483”; LSA 107 with ICL of 102

New Comp timing set and Comp Magnum 1.7 ratio rockers

Milodon 6qt kickout oil pan with Mellings HV pump and matching Milodon pickup.

Stock harmonic balancer, timing cover, 14” flywheel OR a 14” flexplate.

Chrome valve covers. Mallory HEI distributor

This short block is zero decked.

The CR is approx 10.2 and will run fine on pump premium gas.

I figure about 500-520 HP with gobs of TQ...I'd guess 575 ft/lbs.

This engine is in the shop right now being checked out a assembled. I'll pick it up either Friday or next Monday.

Do a search on my Team Chevelle screen name...I've been around there for quite some time and know most of those guys personally. I've built some killer cars and engine combos and my projects have been published in numerous magazines.

Carb to pan; flex plate to waterpump...I'll sell this engine for $3500 plus shipping.