Hard Start

Xxyyzz

So I am new to carbs and I'm not sure if this is a carb problem, or a problem with my particular car/engine.

After the car has been sitting for at least an hour it starts right up. But if I run into a store real quick and come back out it just keeps turning over. Eventually it will catch, but only after it starts cranking real slow. I'm scared the battery will die one of these times.

Thanks,

Mark

Common Chevy problem, and carbureted engine problem in general. It actually happens to a few of us, especially if it is above 90 degrees, and you live in a dry climate. It is due to a form of Vapor Lock... and is made worse these days by the damn Ethanol blended fuels with a lower evap point... this new gas evaps about 5% lower than non-ethanol fuel.

Here is what is happening (as best explained to me when I had this issue).

The carb and fuel line is heated by the engine while driving. When you turn off your car, off the coolant stops cycling and the engine actually increases in temperature a bit, and the fuel line and float chamber heats up more to the point where the fuel begins boiling away / gassifying. This causes the fuel in the line or the carb to vaporize... and now you have vaporlock, as there is no liquid to pump.

For some of us it happens while idling at a stop light for more than a few minutes. Did to me in Boise. It gets worse as you get higher above sea-level.

FIXES:

Try getting some heat shielding on the carb and the fuel line to make sure it stays cool... For fuel lines int eh od day, the old-timers used to buy about 20 wooden clothespins and clip them to the fuel lines to shield & insulate it from engine heat. It actually works. Now you can buy the aluminum wrap.

If the fuel line runs near the block / headers etc - you'll want to move it at least 1/2 to 1 inch away and insulate it. Most gasoline can boil / gassify at 100°F... so it is important that the lines stay cool.