AN fittings

wallaby

Hey there, I have a stock fuel pump and Q-jet carb and I think I'm going to use braided hose to do my fuel line. The last time I changed intake manifolds, it was a real pain to do all the 90 degree bends and double-flare hard tube.

I see this fitting : aer-fbm2107_m.jpg

and then what else will I need? I guess some sort of fitting at the fuel pump end and hose to go in between? I've never worked with braided hose before...is 6AN an ok size?

6AN will likely be fine, but you may want to step up to -8. -8 braided line will also clamp onto 3/8" nipples pretty nicely with a normal hose clamp if your fuel pump doesn't have screw-in NPT fittings. If the fuel pump does have NPT fittings, you will want to just use an NPT to AN adapter. Summit has them for around $5 or so.

The braided line is pretty easy to work with once you figure it out. The only part where people mess things up is they try cutting the fuel line and braid with tin snips or wire cutters or something similar. You really need to use a cutoff wheel or something. A dremel with those little cutoff wheels works perfectly. Also, wrap tape around the cut line before you cut it and it will keep the stainless braid from fraying.

Then when you put the braid into the end of the AN fitting, normally the AN fitting is a reverse thread as you push/screw it onto the braided line. Then just screw in the center part and you're done. Easy-peazy lemon squeezy!

you could run AN-4 with a Qjet and be just fine. the fuel feed passage into the qjet's float bowl is not even 3/16" inch.

AN-6 is fine.

a dob of Silicone Dielectric grease works great for getting those fittings on the hose too.

alright....I'm learning. It sounds as if braided hose behaves kinda like coax cable.