Piston Selection & DCR

Its Just Me

Here's a cold winter day exercise for anyone...

I'm trying to "maximize" compression for 87-89 octane fuel.

Here is what I know:

-0.030 over Mk IV 454 = 4.280" bore

-4.00 stroke

-6.135" "thumb" rods

-0.042" thick head gasket

-Piston head is 0.012" below deck with my existing 1.645" compression distance pistons (these pistons will be replaced with 1.640" compression distance pistons. I assume I lose 0.005" with this change. Am I thinking correctly?)

-Minimum 124cc combustion chamber (124-127 measured w/124.5 ave) on 781 cast iron heads, stock valve configuration.

-The cam I'm using is a GMPP #12366543 hydraulic roller (ZZ502 crate engine). Lift=.527I/.544E, Duration @ .050" = 224I/234E, and 110d lobe seperation, Max RPM = 5800.

-I've put a degree wheel on the engine and determined the intake valve closes (0.006") at 66d after BDC, and Intake C/L is 99d after TDC. Do these numbers look OK? I've never done this before, but they seem reasonable (GM doesn't publish the valve timing ie. cam card, so I'm kinda on my own here.)

What I'm trying to do is determine how much piston dome I can run, based on Dynamic Compression ratio. I'm looking at either a 22cc dome or a 30cc dome (Speed-Pro Hypereutectic).

With this data I compute:

-w/22cc domes: 9.08:1 Static and 7.04:1 Dynamic

-w/30cc domes: 9.68:1 Static and 7.51:1 Dynamic

I've read not to exceed 7.7:1 DCR on 87-89 octane with cast iron heads.

Misc supporting info: '71 Monte Carlo SS454, TH400, 2400 stall, 3.31 posi, A/C, Morel street-perf hyd roller lifters, Comp Ultra Pro Magnum roller rockers, Edelbrock RPM air-gap intake, 750 vac secondary holley, MSD HEI street fire distrubutor, 1 3/4" headers, 2 1/2" dual exhaust with h-pipe, flowmaster 50 series mufflers & bumper exit. Eventually looking at an overdrive trans & 3.73/3.55 gears. For street performance and long distance traveling, no track time.