Driveshaft length 4 Speed M.C.

LS65Speed

Hello All

I am working on a 4 Speed equipped M.C. and am wondering if someone here can answer a couple of questions?

#1 What is the length of a drive shaft for a Muncie equipped M.C. when measured from U-Joint center Line to U Joint centerline?

#2 Are the Th400 shafts and Th350 shafts from Monte Carlos the same length as the Muncie shafts from Monte Carlos?

#3 Are M.C driveshafts (particularly the Muncie equipped M.C. ) shafts different length(s) than the Muncie equipped Chevelle shafts?

Thanks for the help!

YES YES YES! That is exactly what I need.  I think the shaft in this car is TOO short.  I see in your profile that you work in aviation support work. I used to work as a propulsion test engineer at PWA. Moved on to other things later on but never lost my interest in things that fly.  Thanks again!

I run the ground equipment dept, or should say I am the ground equipment dept :lol: and work line service for our FBO, and maintain our fuel farm too

why do you think it's too short?

can you slide it forward enough to install/remove it with the weight on the axle?

I will throw this out there, when I did my TH350 conversion to a Muncie M20, I'm using the same driveshaft. I had the large round vibration dampner  removed (mounted at the front of the driveshaft)  and then had all the weights removed and then rebalance. Unfortunatly I don't have a photo of the driveshaft prior to removing the dampner but I'm sure someone else does. Also, I'm certain that Sam is correct that the Chevelle and MC shafts are the same, I was told they're the same on multiple occasions...........

I found a pic of my original driveshaft, from a SBC350 with a TH350 trans...........

post-732-0-21287800-1427854924_thumb.jpg

For Murphy