Replacing brake pads and rotors

Hello!

Back again after a prolonged absence. Diagnosed with the "Big C" recently and oncologist suggested something other than chemo to focus on, so I am dusting off my 71 - good therapy! It has been sitting for nearly 2 years, and when I took it in for an inspection on Thursday, it was clear that the front brake pads and rotors need to be replaced (all original stuff - 70K original miles). While I have never done brakes before, figured it is a good time to learn and have heard that it is not that complex. True? Any directions you can point me, suggestions on parts or step-by-step instructions would be greatly appreciated. Members have helped me in the past, and I am sure all of your experience will help me know. Thanks!

George

Bringing this up again.

Talked to a local tire dealer and he suggested Checker as the place to buy brake pads and rotors. $15 for the pads; $60 each for the rotors (with hubs). He said if I have the money he would recommend all Wagner parts, but they are about twice the cost. What have you used/suggest? I want to do this right and want to get it back on the road.

Should I replace calipers as well?

I prefer Napa brand parts. If the brakes have never been done I would go ahead and grab calipers and then you don't have to worry about the front brakes for a long time. I would also check the rubber brake lines and the wheel bearings.

Welcome back after your bout with th big c hope all is well now. Its really not that bad of a job but could be kinda time consuming to explain step by step. I would suggest getting a repair manual for the car there out there and not that expensive I got one from amazon. As far as the parts try and avoid anything made in china. As Ian stated napa parts are pretty good. If you get jammed up on anything drop me a pm ill be happy to help. Remember safety first use jack stands and work safely, good luck

Thanks to you rotors (with hubs) are $66 each? Does that should about right?