rollbar install

CrazyDavey

some asked to see some pic's so here they are. This is the basic install of a 6 point kit from Chris Alston Chassisworks. They make them for the car and fit great. I'll post some tomorrow with the interior back in it...

100_4705.jpg

100_4709.jpg

100_4711.jpg

100_4712.jpg

100_4713.jpg

100_4714.jpg

100_4715.jpg

trunk put back together, the system is good into the 10's

100_4721.jpg

grin

I got a question...is that a plate that ties the door bar (near the the swing out connection) into the main hoop? Looks like a flex point that would bend on impact...maybe I'm missing something underneath it.

Also how is that removable cross bar behind the front seat legal?

100_4715.jpg

I'll have to check the spec sheet when I go down to the shop this morning Bill. I'm not an engineer but I'm thinking if the main loop crushes then it didn't do its job or the stress exceeded the requirements dictated by NHRA. As to the location of the attach point at the loop for the side bars the requirement is that the side bar be high enough to allow the bar to pass between the elbow and shoulder of the driver. I do know there is a gusset that goes under the sidebar attach tab at the loop but I think the bar is there for side protection.

As far as the removeable back bar it is stated to be NHRA legal and is very strong. All of the clevis pieces are forged machined steel that slip inside the tubing and are then tig-welded in place. The clevis pins are 1/2" so that is a matter of shear strength which is designed to exceed that of a weld. I guess the bottom line is that this is a company who has been doing this for 35 years, is well known and I really don't have the knowledge to challenge the design. It's sort of like you trust the new tires that they won't blow out because the manufacturer said they won't. I will confirm the position of the side bar tabs though, thanks Bill....Davey.. grin