Sumping A Fuel Tank

Andy's Auto

I chumped out Saturday morning by just adding a Holley Black pump to my oh so running out of gas 496 Monte. But after I found out no drag racing last night I decided to go a little further. I had an extra new 70 gas tank laying around (who doesn't), I hit Murrays Speed and Custom for my weekly donation. A presumped tank willk set you back around $500, and although I might come across like baller, I work like a dog for my money. I do not dictate authority from the office, I work for a living. A Chassis Engineering sump runs $65. The tank was $170 shipped to my door. Get where I am going with this?

Here is the new stock tank.

monteroll003.jpg

I marked the tank for the sump at the lowest part of the tank.

monteroll004.jpg

After cutting the wholw with a cutoff wheel, I used my trusty Lincoln 140 amp MIG welder to attach.

monteroll005.jpg

Add a little paint to stop any rust.

monteroll006.jpg

A little GM ac sealing tape for no squeaks and she is ready to go in.

monteroll008.jpg

And here is the final product.

monteroll009.jpg

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The plan is simple. I am gonna be that guy with stuff hanging out the back of his car. I am putting in a Barry Grant BG280 pump, a CHM micro cannister filter, and -10 all the way up to new Aeromotive regulator. Hopefully the rain stays today so I can head to the shop and fab up the brackets for the pump and filter and run the new -10 Pushlok line up front to the new reg.

I just wanted to add that I took the stock sender and soldered the end shut so it doesn't leak but my gas gauge will still work.

Looks good Andy, I have been thinking of doing the same thing, I have a 1/2 inch and lines pickup but I have to keep more fuel in the tank than I want to. By the way I run a 7 psi six valve eddy mechanical pump and have not had a fuel issue yet.

I am gonna be that guy with stuff hanging out the back of his car.