compression check

vince

Ok! Let me start by saying that I am a rookie when it comes to the internal parts if the engine. The other day I was asked if I had ever done a compression on my stock 350.

Today I decided to do one and came up with these numbers 1=135psi, 3=120psi, 5=120psi, 7=110psi, 2=110psi, 4=120psi, 6=110 psi and 8=135psi. So do these numbers mean to tell me anything?

Guest ADGTRUNKLID

Usually you do not want more then 15 pounds variation, considering the age of the car I would say it looked fine. Some people like to do the test with the throttle wide open to get air in.

I was tought to have all the spark plugs out, and the throttle held fully open before cranking the engine to test a cylinder. It's not that critical...you'd be looking for a cylinder that has noticeably less pressure and that would be a sign of some mechanical problem. I'd say your numbers look pretty good.

Should I try it again with the throttle opened to see if there is a difference? Or should I call it all good? One more thing, will this test give me any indication how solid the motor is?

Guest Rice Racing1

Vince the rule is 10% variation not 15 psi. The biggest problem here are the 3 cyl's at 110 psi. 90 psi is the threshold of being able to work. Below 90 psi the cly dose not produce any power.

Yes, those #'s mean the engine is weak powerwise. Either the ring seal is bad or the valve seat seal is bad. A stock low comp SB is in need of a rebuild once the comp drops below 135 psi.

Don

This is all good information.

With these numbers do you think it would be ok to do a cam, lifter and spring change? or should I have a total rebuild done?