What gears to go with out back

robs70monte

Well im going threw my Monte 8.2 10 bolt i haven't taken it apart yet so i don't know what gears are it but i know its not a posi and its make some loud noises i have a posi carrier and some 3:31 gears they any good for this combo?,Its a mildly built 350 .30 over flat tops camel back heads,268h comp cams cam, performer intake and a holly 680cfm,headers with glass packs and a th350 with a shift kit stock converter. that all i can think of for now let me know if i forgot any thing i plan on dragging the car this year and i hope to run some ware in the 13s

Any help is appreciated

Not sure exactly what you are asking. If the car came with a 350 SB, it likely has 2.73 gears. By comparison, 3.31 gears usually came with the 454 and should give you better acceleration, better ETs, but less top end speed and less gas mileage. There are web sites that can give you anticipated performance based on the specs you have.

I'm not an expert, if you need more you need to get some of the drag guys to comment on this. Dave? Bill?

I'm not a rear end guy myself either,... well at least when it comes to cars, but I would say that it depends on what you want. I like the 2.73 because it gives me good gas mileage on the highway and sufficient acceleration, but if you want to go from stoplight to stoplight as fast as possible, I would say the higher ratio is what you want.

Hopefully one of the drag guys will speak up at some point.

ask CRAZY DAVE.....he will help his chevelle launches real good if you have read his past threads...331's for highway driving hands down, for strip and top end stuff 373 or 411's...

I debated the same thing a couple years ago when I did my 12 bolt. I had bought a set of 3.31's from e-bay but one of my friends convinced me to go with 3.55's. I'm glad I did the 3.55 these are big heavy cars.

Rob,