ruh roh tranny trouble

mymontesa70

any tranny techs in here?....scratch that i know all of you are smile

well heres my current dilemma..

for starters i have a 350 sb with a turbo 3 trans . i also have a b&m mega shifter which will come into play later.

so, if the car is in drive and im just crusing not even putting the pedal down the car will wind up to 4 grand! before it shifts ...scary....this is the case no matter what , getting on the highway ,cruising, it does it full throttle to but that's what its always done and should do as far as im concerned

now the only way ive found to remedy this problem is if i manually bring it through the gears , if i blip the throttle and then shift i can get it to go through the gears at whatever rpm range i want when im cruising , kind of like clutch less shifting.

so to wrap things up im a total amateur when it comes to trannys and have no idea whats going on ...any advice?

as always any and all help is appreciated , i love this place

What has changed? I would also look for the vacuum line off the trans or intake. Could the kick down cable be stuck or has fallen off? Have you changed anything, moved anything? Even something a simple as a different air cleaner assembly could cause the trans vacuum line to be knocked off or pinched. Good luck!

well embarrassing as this is , and im sure there is going to be some finger waving.....i have never changed the tranny fluid or filter:( i bought when i was 18 so thats...7 years! i guess thats next on list also cant the modulator itself just go bad? i could be way off. thanks for all your help fellas ill keep you posted but expect it to be a while. im having motor issues currentley and lets just say the day has been frustrating. im sure ill post something to you gurus later asking for help.

by the way the tranny is the one thing ive really neglected on my car and now im paying for it.