Monte Monte (SS-454 that is!) LONG!

Guest Greg Riley

Guest Greg Riley

Hey guys,

This is the unedited version of the story that appeared in the Feb 7th issue of Old Cars Weekly.

Please keep in mind that this story was written entirely from my 25 year old memories. I didn't find your site until the story was accepted for publication, but I don't think I made too many errors!

G

Monte Monte (SS-454 that is!)

By 1982 I had been driving for almost seven years and I had already owned at least eight cars. None of them was what you would call first class reliable transportation. I consider my first “real” car to be a 1970 Monte Carlo SS-454 that I purchased early that year.

All of my friends knew that I needed some sort of reliable transportation as I was constantly bumming rides. Mike Teal in particular kept hounding me to look at a car that belonged to one of his elderly neighbors. Every few days he would tell me a few more details. At first I wasn’t particularly interested. A 1970 Monte Carlo didn’t sound very appealing to a 22 year old guy. I wanted a ’69 Camaro like my friend Les, or a Charger like my buddy Wayne’s.

Mike kept persisting and each day he would bring a few more details. “My neighbors bought it new, and it’s only got 60,000 miles.” Yawn. “It’s got bucket seats and a console.” Better, but still no soap. The one day he said the magic words, “SS-454.” At first I thought he was making it up as I had never heard of a Monte-Carlo SS-454. Another friend looked it up in a book he had on Chevy muscle cars and they described it as “the amazing ghost” and “the rarest of all SS Chevy’s.” Total production for 1970 was less than 2,000, and they were only made in 1970 and 1971. After that I couldn’t wait to go look at it.