How many dark green 1971 SS were built?

Green71SS

Hi all.

I have not been a regular here but hope to be as time alows. I will be picking up a 1971 SS Monte from my stepfather who originally bought it new after coming home from Vietnam. He had always said that it would be mine and I didn't pressure him to take. About two years ago he said come get it and I restrained myself from picking it up until I finished my Master's Degree, because I couldn't handle another distraction at the time. Wrenching on the Monte would be much more enjoyable then writing papers.

Well, graduation is May 1st so I plan to pick up the car over Memorial Day weekend. It has been sitting in the same spot except for memorial weekend two years ago when we cleaned 27 years of dust and bird droppings off of it. Unfortunatley the engine is locked up from sitting. It was parked in an open garage stall in 1981. I will post pictures here soon. It is the dark green color and I haven't looked for the build sheet yet.

My main question right now is how many dark green SS cars were built. I see a lot of other colors but not the dark green. I originaaly though it was pretty popular at the time.

Thanks,

Tom

I dont know that anyone will have that info. I do know that green was a very popular color. Look on the body tag and see where it was built if it is Flint I will be suprised if you find a build sheet. Get some pics of it they love pics here. Is the car located in Ohio. Good luck and congrats on the degree.

I'll check the tag as soon as I can, thanks. It is in Illinois where I grew up. Mom parked her car next to it everyday when I was little. I see you're in Dayton also. Are there many first gen Montes around? I've only been here for 5 years.

I do not believe there is any true way of knowing how many of a particular color were built........